Skip to main content Skip to the main navigation
Indiana University
  • People

Office of the President, Michael A. McRobbie

Jacobs School of Music Groundbreaking

  • The Kuttner Quartet, which features four of the top string players in the Jacobs School, delivers the prelude to the groundbreaking ceremony. 
  • President McRobbie heralds a new day in the history of the world-renowned Jacobs School of Music as he shares some of the “visible signs” of the school’s growth and progress over the last century. 
  • IU Bloomington Provost Karen Hanson provides the audience with a brief history of IU’s music buildings and discusses the teaching, learning, and performance opportunities that will accompany the new studio building. 
  • Jacobs School of Music Dean Gwyn Richards discusses the significance of the new studio building and the creation of a new gateway to IU’s performing arts district. 
  • IU saxophone professor Otis Murphy shares what the new studio building will mean for him and his colleagues. Murphy has said that the new building will allow faculty and students alike “to reach new horizons in their mission here in the Jacobs School of Music.” 
  • IU senior and percussion performance major Mary McCauley talks about what the studio building will mean for today’s students and future generations. 
  • The ceremonial shovels signal what promises to be a historic occasion for Indiana University and the Jacobs School of Music. 
  • From left to right: Past and present Jacobs School Deans Charles Webb and Dean Richards share a congratulatory moment. 
  • The brass section of the IU Wind Ensemble, conducted by Stephen W. Pratt, adds to the fanfare during the historic groundbreaking. 
  • Breaking ground (from left to right) are President McRobbie, Lilly Endowment Vice President for Education Sara Cobb, Lilly Endowment Program Director Patty Villars, and Jacobs School Dean Gwyn Richards